Food on Friday 16th October 2015

I’m writing this at the end of a busy, tiring week, feeling full and happy thanks to just having eaten this. IMG_2646

It is a one portion size caramel and hazelnut tart from M & S bakery, and the reason there are a few bits missing, is because until I bit into it I had no idea how good it was going to be, and therefore that I needed a picture to share with you ! It’s a bit like eating Ferrero Rocher chocolates without the chocolate and the wafer. and with pastry. I think you need to try it out for yourselves. Highly recommended ( with apologies to readers not in the UK – you’ll just have to take my word for it).

I was fortunate enough to go out to a lovely Italian restaurant with friends last weekend, and although David Beckham was seated just a few tables away, the food was so good it kept my attention.  This photo can’t communicate the flavour, but on the right are Sebada – fried puff pastry stuffed with ricotta cheese and honey, drizzled with marmalade. mmm, mmm.  I will be trying a home made version at some point so watch this space!

IMG_2572

Whilst I was out eating sebada my children were at home making S’mores by exploding marshmallows in the microwave. I understand that the marshmallows began their time in the mug before covering everything else.

IMG_2578

I’ve a couple of favourite recipes this week

On the mains front, and as a good way of using up all the apples we’ve had recently – Fruity Pork Steaks, from the BBC Good Food site. (click here for the recipe)

Coating the pork in Chinese Five Spice gives it a delicious, almost aniseed tasting base note. I don’t have redcurrant jam so substituted raspberry jam and it tasted great. Serve with mashed potato and some kind of green vegetable.

As for dessert, a glut of garden pears has provided us with the perfect excuse to eat Sticky Pear Pudding with caramel sauce. I first came upon this recipe 11 years ago, and it’s a family favourite. Delicious hot with ice cream, or cold for breakfast the next day ( well  essentially it’s fruit and bread so that works, right ?! ). (recipe here from Ocado)

IMG_2606              IMG_2607

And last but not least, for those moments where cooking seems too much may I recommend fish fingers on toast or peanut M & M’s . Always a good idea.

Happy eating ! 

Leave a Reply

